Kitchen update- 1 year later

I can’t believe it’s been a year and a half since we completed our kitchen update! It still feels so new and fresh to me! Every time I walk into my kitchen I fall in love again. We don’t have a large kitchen and definitely no room for an island or lots of extras but we managed to turn our galley kitchen into exactly what I dreamed it could be. We have dreams of moving into a bigger home, further out into the country one day but this home will always hold a special place in my heart. I don’t think I’m the only one who gets overly attached to my home. This home where my children are growing up and where our youngest was brought home to, means so much to me. We have put some much love into making this home our own, especially the kitchen, which is the most important room to me. 

  
This is what our kitchen looked like when we moved in. 

  
This is after the cabinets were painted but before the countertops were completed. Our previous counters were almost pink! 

  
And finally once the counters were installed! This was early summer of 2014! If you would like to see the detailed post and the process of updating our kitchen, check out this Link

And here is our kitchen today…

   
 
Even though the major things are still the same, the small changes have made a big difference. It feels more and more perfect every day! 

  
I love my diy faux roman shade! My friend  Brittni and I made them together last year. It was one of the easiest diy projects ever! 

  
My open cabinet area is literally my favorite part of my whole house! It was a last minute thought when we were updating the kitchen and I was so worried my husband would think it was dumb or hate being able to see inside the cabinet but he went with it and I’m so glad we did it! People constantly ask me how I keep it organized and that they have too many mismatched pieces to be able to show them off. BUT this has been no different for us. As long as we put the dishes back where the go while we unload the dishwasher then it always looks like this! Unless we have lots of dirty dishes, then it just looks a little bare but not bad. As far as mismatched stuff, I’ve had tons of sets of dishes and glassware over he years and all those random pieces that’ still linger in my kitchen are hidden away in my closed cabinets. Along with my ridiculous cup collection and the leaning tower of Tupperware. I can never keep those organized, no matter what I do! 

  
 
  
I’ve moved a few small things around in the last year and a half and replaced a few things that it was time to see go. I’m constantly changing and decorating. No room in my house is ever complete. 

  
I can’t wait until we replace the floors in the house. I just can’t decide on what color to get so that it doesn’t clash with the wooden counters. 

 
First view of the kitchen as you enter that area.   
 
Dining/eat in breakfast area right beside the kitchen. 

   

  

I’m still so in love with my little kitchen! 

Hope you enjoyed! 

2 thoughts on “Kitchen update- 1 year later

Leave a comment